But I thought I would chime in with a few notes. Site design / logo 2023 Stack Exchange Inc; user contributions licensed under CC BY-SA. One time as a young lawyer, I showed up in Court with my top button unbuttoned under my tie. Current Driving Laws for Ohio Teens In NZ a while ago we had an anti-speeding ad where a car stops just in time before hitting something (don't remember what), and the driver goes "phew, that was close". This makes people realize what their limits are without impacting their ego - it works!!! In Ohio, if you have multiple speeding or other criminal convictions on your record, you may have to serve some jail time. Heck most of us do it every time we drive. Is there a single-word adjective for "having exceptionally strong moral principles"? He got a speeding ticket. The best a lawyer is likely to do is get the judge to reduce it by a bracket. She's responsible for paying the fine but that's her punishment, she should have a job of some kind (if not, she'll need to get a job to pay for the ticket) so that'll be punishment enough. document.getElementById( "ak_js_1" ).setAttribute( "value", ( new Date() ).getTime() ); Disclaimer: Requesting a legal consultation or claim review does not form an attorney client relationship and you are not considered a client until a retainer agreement has been signed and your case has been accepted. Questions we will likely ask your child include: What happened to gain the attention of the citing officer? Also, getting a ticket for going 55km/h on a bicycle on flat road without wind in your back kinda counts as a trophy. I think you may have got caught up in punishment as deterrent and be overlooking the real possibility that communication and listening, and mutuality, works better for some people. You know your daughter best, I assume you can be a judge on how it feels when she is being honest. Then ask her what would happen if she hit this kid? I received a major parking ticket at 16, the day I got my license.